Home > Articles > Taking Responsibility

Taking Responsibility

Blame is just a lazy person’s way of making sense of chaos. – Doug Coupland

It nerves me when someone blames others for their errors or their way of life. Your mother, your brother, your friend, or a stranger cannot be blamed when you realize you are your own person who has control over their thoughts, feelings, and reactions. We are stronger than we realize, if only we would become more aware of this fact. I am not exempt from this unfortunate characteristic in modern day society. Deep down, I know when I blame someone else I am wrong. I cannot blame everyone for my failures.

We must become incredibly intune with ourselves to know when we’re blaming someone else though we were the one in control. It’s partly rewiring the way we think, and partly being more astute in how our brains comes up with the logic.

For example, when I moved in with my boyfriend, he pointed out that I make a lot of excuses. He called me on my bullshit every time. Of course, he had me questioning every little action, and it became quite annoying. Eventually, I began to see when I made excuses and I tried to find the true reason why. Then, I’d tell him the truth rather than the simple excuse.

We must be completely aware of ourselves and our logic. Why do we blame others? Are we really mad at ourselves and taking it out on someone else? It becomes a habit and a way of life, so it makes it harder to see. Simply self-reflect every once in a while. With time, you’ll stop blaming everyone else for your troubles and you’ll take responsibility. When you do this, you can see where you made your mistakes and you’ll be prompt to fix them.

  1. May 24, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Yes, I’m an asshole. But I love you :*

    • May 24, 2011 at 10:58 pm

      I didn’t say it. You did. :-*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

