Home > Articles > Choices

Choices

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

-Robert Frost, “The Road Not Taken”

I have a choice to do good, but I also have a choice to do bad. For some, they call this free will. Myself, I call it choice. In the epic “Dangerous Minds”, Michelle Pfeiffer’s character taught inner-city gangsters and thugs they have a choice: they can let their hard luck bring them down and destroy them, or they can fight against their environment that brings them down by becoming educated and learning to read. They didn’t have to live this life of turmoil; all they had to do is choose.

Some people are born with crosses to bear. I was born gay, and I deal with the effects of being seen as second-class on a daily basis. Through politics, people’s stares, even jokes passed around from family member to family member and friend to friend, I see the hateful ignorance circling around me almost all the time. Now, I can choose to give up, live a life of solitude and block these people from my life, or I can be the change I want to see in the world. In doing so, I can educate people and expose them to the ordinary lifestyle of a gay individual. I chose not to let it bring me down and kill me because it almost did.

One thing people seem to forget is how strong we are as an individual. We don’t need money; we don’t need friends; hell, we don’t even need family to survive. We might go a bit insane, but we survive. People forget how powerful they are and they choose to give up rather than fight. Trust me, fighting can be tiring. You take your good days with your bad, but you push on because it gets better. Every day it gets a little better. Some people are too blind to see this because they’re clouded by their own misery.

Get out of your head. It’s really nice out here.

– Forgetting Sarah Marshall

Even with the odds stacked against you, you have a choice. It might be the hardest choice you make, but the road less traveled, the one that will make or break you, is the one that’s worth it. I want to scream when I heard people say they have no choice. It’s bullshit! You’re playing it safe for no reason other than you’re lost and scared. I know that feeling, it’s not the end of the world. Even if you choose the safe option, do it your way. Set boundaries or goals for yourself and outlive being safe.

There are always two choices. Two paths to take. One is easy. And its only reward is that it’s easy. – Unknown

What’s your choice? To live safe and easy but unfulfilled, or live dangerously and satisfied without regrets.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

