Home > Articles > Fight Procrastination: Push!

Fight Procrastination: Push!

I find myself putting things off until the last minute. For some, they call it laziness. For others, it’s procrastination. Since I’m a pretty active person, I believe I simply procrastinate because I’d rather do something more “interesting.” I’ve even made up excuses in the past to keep from doing my work. This isn’t a healthy way of living. Instead, I’m pushing away opportunities for myself to grow and become a better person. A lot of the time, if I simply pushed or willed myself to get it over with, I was a lot happier and it wasn’t as big of a struggle as I assumed.

Usually, I convince myself there’s too much to do but so little time to do it. So, I do what I can for 10 minutes. I mentioned this in another blog Stay Clean! It’s a great way to show progress in such a small amount of time.

Sometimes, I tell myself I don’t have the mental energy to complete my tasks and I’d rather sit and watch television or play a video game. When I get to feeling this way, I will force myself into my chores or duties instead. I hold my pleasures for ransom until I’m finished with my goal. Then, I can do whatever I’d like. If I have a lot to do, and I actually need a break, I’ll set a time to do a small bit of fun and return to my chores after my set time.

At times, I even bribe myself into doing chores. “I will give myself a chocolate for each task I finish” or something alone those lines. Or, I do the exact opposite: “For every task I do not finish tonight, I will donate $5 to charity.” I lose out on money I really cannot live without, yet I’ve supported a good cause.

What do you do to fight procrastination?

  1. May 16, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Hi honey! Great article! Simple and to the point for sure. I think it’s funny cause I bet you pushed aside studying for math to write this 😀 Procrastination is brutal though, I know, I work SO hard to just DO DO DO. I think what’s working for me is to definitely DO but in small manageable chunks. Be VERY aware that most projects are bigger in our minds than in the doing and can get squared away rather quickly if you don’t think about it too much. But not all goals can be reached very quickly, sometimes the only way is to do a small tiny bit, anything to make progress and feel good about it. The trick (for me) is to do this every day and also allow myself time for fun and rewarding stuff also EVERY DAY. I’m usually so intense on what I do that I burn out fast, and the older (ahem) I get the more I realize healthy balance is the ONLY way. Here’s a book I read a while back, it’s pure genius, very small and 100% on the money. It’s called “The War of Art” – yes a play on words referring to “The Art of War.” I guarantee that this little nugget is much easier to digest. It applies to everyone but even more so for us creative types and I recommend it right along side the Mandala of Being for anyone trying to improve their lives. It shows you how your mind creates resistance and prevents us from DOING.

    http://www.amazon.com/War-Art-Through-Creative-Battles/dp/0446691437

    • May 16, 2011 at 8:15 pm

      I was taking a break from Math, but I did not push aside math. So there! 😛

  2. May 16, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    jonnieboi :
    I was taking a break from Math, but I did not push aside math. So there!

    LOL k :*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

