Home > Articles > You’re Star Player

You’re Star Player

Throughout the past few years, I’ve found certain things moved me to become a better, more in-tuned person with my life journey. Advice, or anecdotes, have even come to me from various sources of media, including television and movies. During the spring of 2009, I watched a hilarious stand-up from one of my favorite comedians Katt Williams. Before watching the special, I only knew of Katt Williams in Eddie Murphy’s Norbit where he played an ex-pimp named Lord Have Mercy. I didn’t know about his style of comedy or what he spoke about, but I was willing to give him a chance.

In 2008’s “It’s Pimpin’, Pimpin'”, Katt Williams performed a series of jokes where he spoke mostly the truth but seen through his eyes. As a comedian, he’s capable of taking the worst tragedies and switching it up to be funny. I live on the philosophy of keeping an open mind, and laughing every possible chance I can get, even at the behest of others. You might find people such as Katt and myself cruel, but I believe, and I hope Katt would agree with me, that I would want people to rejoice in my follies. Anything to bring a smile or a laugh from a person, to relieve them of their chaotic lives or any stress they’re going through.

Moving on, there is a key piece of information Katt Williams gives in “It’s Pimpin’, Pimpin'” and I’ve included it below:

WARNING – Has graphic language and uses racial slurs.

I believe deeply in what Katt is saying in the video: ask yourself how you’re doing. It’s fine to be concerned with your friends and family or even strangers. However, you cannot take care of others until you’ve taken care of yourself.

On that note, I suggest you understand the difference between empathizing and vicariously living through someone’s hardships. It’s fine to be able to put yourself in someone’s shoes to understand but be careful with modeling your life on their current situation. I find this ruins my focus when I’ve accidentally placed my experience in their story and I’ve reflected back to a painful memory. If a friend comes to you for advice, or simply for an ear to listen, you should be reserved and calm for their benefit. Remove your personal emotions so you can focus on them and help them through their pain.

Finally, you cannot make others happy. The only person you can make happy is yourself. As my friends and I like to say continuously to one another, “You cannot please everyone all the time, only some people some of the time.” If you’re not happy, you’re doing it wrong. Plain and simple. I suggest you reflect on your life and make sure the decisions you make are for yourself or for others, and decide what’s most important and beneficial for your life and happiness.

However, you cannot be of any use, to yourself or others, if you haven’t stared into the mirror and asked, “How are you today?”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

