Home > Articles > Stay Clean!

Stay Clean!

Depression can take hold of you at any moment, and it will infect your mind with the tiniest thing to keep you down. For example, you’re feeling down, already hating on yourself, and you realize the dishes aren’t washed. Your mind, thanks to depression, may use it against you to keep your spirits down. In essence, you feel bad because you feel bad, and this has kept you from doing the dishes. A constant vicious cycle which will cripple you and ruin your day.

Even I have problems staying on top of all the cleaning, and I’m unemployed! Now, instead of getting down on myself, I’ll simply create a schedule and a list of chores to be done, and I’ll finish them one by one.

I like to focus on one chore at a time. Sometimes, I’ll make a game of it and give myself five minute to ten minutes to see how much I can get done. For that entire time, I do not stop and I maintain concentration on this one task. If I’m not finished within the time frame, I will have at least put a dent in it. If I choose to, I will give myself a smaller amount of time to complete the chore and mark it off my list. Otherwise, I can move on to another task and come back to the incomplete chore later.

Also, I love not rushing around during the day: showering and getting dress to leave for work somewhere, only to sit in a stuffy cubicle somewhere alone for eight hours. Still, I should shower. I know staying clean and keeping up on my personal hygiene will make me feel better. Refreshed, revitalized, rejuvenated, relaxed… All the wonderful R’s in the world used in shampoo commercials. Plus, your friends and family will appreciate it.

My point in all this? Stay clean! It helps make you love your environment and your body, which should be treated as a temple. It’s the only one you’ll get and you should take care of it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. May 11, 2011 at 4:16 am
  2. May 15, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Leave a Reply

